Who is the Current Chairman Of HEC ?

A. Mr. Nizam Ud Din

B. Dr Tariq Banuri

C. Mr. Atta-ur-Rahman

D. None of these


On Tuesday, January 18, Chief Justice Athar Minallah and Justice Aamer Farooq of the Islamabad High Court issued a verdict in favour of the petition by Mosharraf Zaidi and others challenging the removal of Dr Tariq Banuri from the position of chairman, Higher Education Commission (HEC), by a cabinet notification on March 26 of last year. The short-order verdict declares the notification unlawful, thus restoring Dr Banuri as chairman. Dr Tariq Banuri was removed by first amending the HEC Ordinance to reduce the tenure of its chair from four to two years, and then applying that amendment retroactively to the sitting chairman, who had been appointed in May 2018 and was due to serve until May 2022.

Post a Comment