Name of the Afghanistan Parliament is:

A. National Assembly (Meshrano Jirga & Wolesi Jirga)

B. Parliament

C. Congress

D.  None of these


The National Assembly, also known as the Parliament of Afghanistan, was the legislature of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan. It was effectively dissolved when the Taliban seized power on 15 August 2021 and transferred legislative authority to the Leadership Council. The Taliban issued a decree formally abolishing the National Assembly in May 2022. It was a bicameral body, comprising two chambers:

1. Meshrano Jirga (مشرانو جرګه) or the House of Elders: an upper house with 102 seats.

2. Wolesi Jirga (ولسي جرګه) or the House of the People: a lower house with 250 seats

Post a Comment