Name of the Sri Lanka Parliament is:

A. Congress

B. Storting

C. Parlimenthuwa

D. None of these


The Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is the supreme legislative body of Sri Lanka. It alone possesses legislative supremacy and thereby ultimate power over all other political bodies on the island. It is modeled after the British Parliament. It consists of 225 members known as Members of Parliament (MPs). Members are elected by proportional representation for five-year terms, with universal suffrage. The President of Sri Lanka has the power to summon, suspend, prorogue, or terminate a legislative session and to dissolve the Parliament. President can dissolve Parliament only after the lapse of 2+1⁄2 years or if 2⁄3 majority of Members of Parliament request him. The actions of the president to either suspend or dissolve the Parliament is subject to legal scrutiny by the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka. The Speaker of the Parliament, or the Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees in the absence of the former, presides over Parliament.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url