There are ____ types of Hajj:

A. 4

B. 3

C. 2

D. 1


There are 3 main diferent types of Hajj, see below

1. Hajj-ul-Ifrad

2. Hajj-ul-Qiran

3. Hajj-ul-Tamattu

1. Hajj-ul Ifrad

Also known as the isolated Hajj, Hajj-ul-Ifrad is performed by the residents of Miqat, haram, and Jeddah. While the pilgrims do wear ihram, they do so only to perform Hajj, not to perform Umrah. It’s this intention that differentiates Hajj-ul-Ifrad from the rest of the forms of Hajj, both of which involve Umrah. A pilgrim who ends up performing an umrah before engaging in Hajj rituals is no longer a Mufrid (a person who performs Hajj-ul-Ifrad). They’ll be required to perform either of the two other types of Hajj. As a Mufrid, you are not supposed to exit the state of ihram until you’re done throwing stones at Jamarat. The practice of stoning Jamrah Al Aqabah is performed on the day of Eid. Although you are not required to offer animal sacrifice when performing Hajj-ul-Ifrad, you may do so if you want to.

2. Hajj-ul-Qiran

Hajj-ul-Qiran is truly a blessing for Muslims who live far away from the sacred Mosque, Masjid al-Haram. This is because it allows them to perform both Hajj and Umrah in a single visit. In fact, the Qarin (a person who performs Hajj-ul-Qiran) must enter the state of ihram with the intention to perform both Hajj and Umrah. The pilgrim is supposed to perform Umrah first and then proceed to Hajj. Regardless of the length of duration between the two rituals, the Qarin must perform Hajj and Umrah in the same ihram.

While the pilgrim may perform Umrah in the preceding Islamic months of Shawwal and Dhul-Qa’dah, the common practice is to perform it during the first 8 days of Dhul-Hijjah. Since you’ll stay in the state of ihram between Umrah and Hajj, this approach is most convenient.

Upon arriving at Masjid al-Haram, Mecca, the pilgrim begins with Tawaf and Saee, the two key practices in Umrah. After performing Umrah, you can clip your hair but not shave until you’ve performed Hajj and offered animal sacrifice. Keep in mind that animal sacrifice is a mandatory practice in Hajj-ul-Qiran, unlike the case for Hajj-ul-Ifrad.

3. Hajj-ul-Tamattu

Hajj-ul-Tamattu is the third type of Hajj, and the person performing this Hajj is referred to as Mutamatti. Again, the pilgrim is supposed to perform Umrah before Hajj, but he is not obliged to perform the two rituals in the same ihram. A Mutamatti enters the state of Ihram with the intention of performing Umrah only. Once they’ve performed the Umrah, they’ll exit the state of Ihram and re-enter a new Ihram when proceeding to Hajj on the 8th of Dhul-Hijjah. This way, they’re relieved of the restrictions imposed by Ihram during the time between Umrah and Hajj.

It’s important to understand here that Umrah must be performed during the Hajj season. Any Umrah that’s performed before the start of Shawwal or during the days of Hajj is considered invalid. Also, anyone who performs Umrah as part of Hajj-ul-Tamattu can’t leave without performing Hajj. No matter what, they must perform Hajj before going back to their destinations. Hence, even if you’re a resident of Saudi Arabia, avoid departing from Mecca if you’re unsure that you’ll be able to return and enter the state of Ihram in time.

As in the case of Hajj-ul-Qiran, a pilgrim must offer animal sacrifice when performing Hajj-ul-Tamattu. If for some reason, you can’t offer animal sacrifice, you must conduct a 10-day fast as a substitute.   However, do not fast during the day of Eid-ul-Adha; it’s forbidden to fast on any of the Eid days.

Job Test Mcqs Website

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url