Dyarchy was first introduced under _____.

A. Morley-Minto Reforms

B. Mont-Ford Reforms

C. Simon Commission Plan

D. None of the Above


The Montagu–Chelmsford Reforms or more briefly known as the Mont–Ford Reforms, were introduced by the colonial government to introduce self-governing institutions gradually in British India. The Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms held out concessions to political parties provided that they accepted the right of the British to remain in control. The Morley-Minto Reforms were well intentioned but the councils that were enlarged could only give advice, with power remaining in the hands of the British. The important features of this act were that:

1. The Imperial Legislative Council was now to consist of two houses: the Central Legislative Assembly and the Council of State.

2. The provinces were to follow the Dual Government System or dyarchy.

Post a Comment