Who is the Current Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC), Pakistan?

A. General Rashad Mahmood 
B. General Sahir Shamshad Mirza 
C. General Zubair Hayat 
D. General Nadeem Raza 

General Sahir Shamshad Mirza is the Current Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC) of Pakistan. General Sahir Shamshad Mirza on Sunday took charge as new Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC) held at Joint Staff Headquarters. General Sahir Shamshad Mirza on Nov 24 appointed as the 18th CJCSC to succeed General Nadeem Raza, who has retired from service on completion of his tenure. GLt-Gen Mirza, who was seen as a frontrunner for the army chief’s post, hails from the Sindh Regiment — the same parent unit as outgoing Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Gen Nadeem Raza. He has had an impressive career in the army, particularly in senior leadership positions during the past seven years. Lt-Gen Mirza came to prominence as the director general military operations during the last two years of retired Gen Raheel Sharif’s tenure. In that role, he was part of Gen Sharif’s core team at the General Headquarters, which supervised the military operation against the banned Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan and other militants in North Waziristan. Moreover, Lt-Gen Mirza was closely involved in the Quadrilateral Coordination Group that brokered intra-Afghan talks involving Pakistan, China, Afghanistan and the United States. He was also a member of the Sartaj Aziz-led committee on reforms for Gilgit-Baltistan. After his promotion to the three-star rank, he was appointed chief of general staff, effectively making him the second-most powerful person in the army after the chief of army staff. The Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee is an inter-services forum that works for coordination among the three armed forces. The CJCSC also serves as the principal military adviser to the prime minister and the National Command Authority.

Post a Comment